A Brief Note on Laziness

This is less of a fully-articulated post and more a note.

I am pretty sure everybody has problems with laziness. We all know the days that get “wasted” browsing random things on the Internet, wandering aimlessly around our workplace (for me, my home office), playing video games instead of eating dinner. I’ve spent my share of time a) having these days, then b) blaming myself for having these days, wasting even more time on guilt. In graduate school, this used to be a real problem. I’m happy to say I’ve gotten over it, though, with the help of three key principles:

1. Forgive. Forgive myself for having a lazy day. Know that they are normal, and happen to everyone.

2. Check in. Lazy days can happen for many reasons. Sometimes, my body (including my brain!) just needs to recharge. This happens pretty regularly for me, and I know it’s not a problem. Sometimes I’m actually sick, but don’t know it yet. In that case, it’s very important have lots of fluids, rest, eat well. A day I spend in recuperation can often ward off a much longer illness. Other times yet, I’re depressed or upset about something, and it’s eating away at me and making me not want to do anything. In that case, I try to reach out to my loved ones and ask for help.

3. Get up. Of course, one lazy day can lead to another and start a bad cycle. The best way to prevent that is to break the cycle. I dig out an old project. I do an errand. I go outside. I change my work environment. All these things help in the gray areas between Something Wrong and Just Resting.

Right now, I am getting over my lazy day by writing a blog post about not being lazy. Kind of meta, I guess 🙂 Ah well. Time to go work!

3 Responses to “A Brief Note on Laziness”

  1. http://tinyurl.com/whyacurry18281 Says:

    It appears you actually understand a good deal related to this specific subject and it all shows via this
    particular blog post, named “A Brief Note on
    Laziness Vlads Blog: East Coast Academia”.

    Thanks -Tam

  2. Joomla Hosting Template Says:

    These sites must be developed in such a way that it should allow users to share ideas, events, activities, events
    and also their interest. Use sections for things like “Blogs” “Pictures”
    “Tutorials” and “FAQs. Innovation is a key to being able to actually sell your products.

  3. top web hosting for wordpress Says:

    I’ve been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i’m satisfied to show that I’ve a very just right uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I so much surely will make certain to don?t put out of your mind this website and provides it a look regularly.

Leave a Reply

